My Other Side

As much as I like rock, punk, metal, electronic and some hip-hop, there is another side of my music passion that no one knows about.  Yes, I love me some classical!  I don’t know a lot of composers, but I know what I like, and I’m always looking for other stuff to check out.

This song is from one of my favorites.  Alfred Schnittke.  This is from his Piano Quintet/Piano Trio.  He wrote this after the death of his mother.  You can feel the sadness and loss in this music. It is truly moving, haunting and beautiful.  Find some headphones and a quiet room and close your eyes.

7 responses to “My Other Side

  1. Hello David
    I can't listen to this one at the moment, sadly, because the link is broken – I'll try to find it on YouTube. I used to listen to quite a lot of classical stuff on BBC Radio 3 in my car, going to and from work when I was still in Cornwall, and found some of it nearly as exciting as the thrash stuff I was talking about yesterday – 'Night on the Bare Mountain' springs to mind. Variety, as the cliche goes, is the spice of life, and being able to appreciate different musical genres is very much part of that.
    Well, given that us GMT-landers are nearly there, I'd like to wish you a happy Christmas, I hope all is well with you, or as well as it can be, in this festive season.

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  2. I've listened to it now – it must just have been my Kindle that couldn't cope with the link, it was fine on the laptop.
    Very interesting – amongst other things, parts of the piece reminded me of a King Crimson track (which one I can't quite recall at the moment!), reminding me that although people might want to pigeonhole music, the similarities between musical forms are often more significant than the differences.
    Merry Christmas!

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  3. I could have sworn that I commented on how great this piece is. So haunting, so present. da da da thump.

    Now, DJ, I know you are a true musician. You hear the great stuff that's out there. You are not caged in by any age/generation/I'm a young guy constraints. You hear good music. You appreciate it.

    And I learn from the masters.

    Peace <3
    Jay

    Like

Leave a Reply

