NYE for losers (lol)

This will answer a few questions I think.  Last spring when shit was getting out of control in my world a friend of mine told me if I could get together enough money for round trip airfare I could go with him and his dad to Australia!  I then spent 2 months doing everything I could do to get the money to go.  My uncle bought me a ticket so I owed him some serious cash.  I sold my computer, a bunch of hockey equipment, cds, books, all sorts of stuff and I hooked up with a few dudes and we jammed downtown at night and made some money from that.  I came pretty close but was a little short.  I did go and still am paying off what i owe.  Everything else was paid by his dad.  Food, hotel, spending money.  Everything.  So it was only the best trip of my life.  I shot some video with my phone and used an old song I made and put this together.  If I wasn’t planning on getting to Norway, Australia would definitely be my next choice.

6 responses to “NYE for losers (lol)

  1. Hi there, D_

    Many thanks for this post – it explains a lot, not least the title you gave your track a couple of posts ago.

    I'm impressed: you were given an opportunity, and you grasped it firmly and worked to make it happen.

    Happy New Year to you; I hope it takes you where you want to go.

    Take care

    Mark

    Like

  2. This is good. One of my favorites. I've never been to Australia, but ever since I read about it when I was younger, I've wanted to go. I'm glad you were able to go. And it just goes to show that with determination, anything is possible. I'm proud of you for working so hard for what you wanted. Busking downtown; that must have been an interesting experience for you. I'd love to hear how that went sometime.

    And yay for being a loser on NYE! I'm spending it alone in a hotel room, with nothing but this post to keep me company. So thanks.

    143

    _Kevin

    Like

  3. Hello David
    Lucky you! Well, not just lucky, of course, but, as Mark and Kevin said, hard-working and determined, too. Australia has been on my wishlist for years, partly because I have friends and family out there – one of my closest friends lives in Queensland, having moved there with his Australian wife and their daughters six or seven years ago, and cousins who live in Tasmania – but perhaps more because I'm a huge Aussie Rules fan, having been a passionate follower of one particular club for over 20 years.
    I liked the music and video, too – the 'walking feet' reminded me of a video my daughter made when I went down to see her in Cornwall at the end of last summer, on a sunny day by the sea. Speaking of music, when you mentioned jamming, I remembered a post you made a while back of you performing with a very talented young drummer – have you ever played together again?

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  4. Wow! I don't even know where to start, tbh, little man!

    That was cool… It drew me in from the onset and I felt shivers up and down my spine! I LOVED the artwork in the video and the way you designed it, DJ. Masterful.

    And, it does explain a LOT. I am so relieved, on different levels, and impressed that you gutted it out and did what you had to, to make it all happen! To me, that speaks volumes about your character. Volumes. There is NOTHING you can't do if you put your mind to it, but I guess you already are finding that out 🙂

    The only thing I would change is the title… I had to read it a few times, to digest what you meant, and I'm glad it you seemed to be joking, because if you weren't, where does that leave the rest of us? You are anything BUT a loser, so I figured I'd better remark about that!

    Anyways, thanks SO much for sharing this with us! It's truly amazing! I hope you get your uncle paid back and can get your hands on another 'puter soon! I can't imagine what you could do if you had your own now! love, tman<3

    Like

Leave a Reply

