A Local Favorite

I am very excited to introduce this next band because they are amazing and they are from the town where I live.  Minnehopeless!

Poliça – Lay Your Cards Out   


5 responses to “A Local Favorite

  1. How did they wind up on BBC1??? Very COOL! Oh, Mike Noyce of Bon Iver is in the band. The lyrics are fricking unintelligible, but I figured it out:

    (http://www.lyricsreg.com/lyrics/polica/Lay+Your+Cards+Out/)

    Polica – Lay Your Cards Out lyrics

    In these little moments, get your cards out, I am waiting
    In these little moments, lay your cards out, I am waiting
    By the waterside summer wading in sunder, girl get your head right
    By the waterside, summer wading, get your head right

    In these little moments, get your cards out, I am waiting
    In these little moments, get your cards out, I am waiting
    By the waterside summer wading in sunder, girl get your head right
    By the waterside summer wading in sunder, girl get your head right

    In these little moments, lay your cards out, I am waiting
    In these little moments, lay your cards out, I am waiting
    By the waterside summer wading in sunder, get your head right
    By the waterside summer wading in sunder, girl get your head right
    Get your head right

    Girl, hmmm get your head right I'm waiting
    Girl, get your head right, get your head right
    Girl, get your head right, get your head right
    Girl, get your head right, I am waiting

    So DJ…how often do you look up the lyrics? Just wondering…
    Peace <3
    Jay

    Like

  2. I love it when this song comes on The Current. Polica were one band I was really looking forward to seeing at River's Edge Fest, but didn't make it in time for. I definitely need to get to one of their shows.

    143

    _Kevin

    Like

  3. Hello David
    Oh yes! Liked it a lot. They remind me a little of Evanescence, another band I have a lot of time for, and, being a (largely failed) drummer myself, I'm always intrigued by bands with more than one percussionist. And, as Jay said, fancy them turning up on naff old Radio 1! From Minneapolis to Maida Vale (probably, anyway, that's where most of the Radio 1 sessions are recorded), quite a journey! From your doorstep to mine, figuratively, at least – the studios are about 7 miles from where I work, and about 25 from where I live now.

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  4. Hi there, D_

    Thanks for posting this: I like this, and I keep on playing it, so it must be growing on me…

    To follow up on things Jay and Sammy have said: this is from BBC Radio 1 (rather than the TV channel, BBC1). The BBC is our public service broadcaster, funded from an annual licence fees charged for ownership of televisions. It has four national radio channels (1 to 4!), each devoted to a different audience segment. Radio 1 is for the younger audience and current “popular” music (as opposed to classical). For many years, they have put quite a lot of effort into finding and publicising new and little-known artists, including recording sessions like this one. I hadn't realised that they had started posting them on YouTube – I will go exploring their YouTube channel. I'm fairly sure that I first heard all the artists I listed as 2012 favourites on Radio 1, so I guess I should consider my TV licence fee well spent.

    Take care

    Mark

    Like

Leave a Reply

