Shout Out

Pink Floyd – Speak To Me/Breathe/On the Run


3 responses to “Shout Out

  1. Hello David
    Pink Floyd are another band I'm a huge fan of, although I didn't really get into them until my mid/late teens – I'd heard of them before that, but hadn't heard much of their music. That changed when I was around 16 – we had a record player in our form room at school, and one of the guys brought Wish You Were Here in, and I heard Shine On You Crazy Diamond for the first time. A little while before, I'd heard some music as the backdrop to a nature series on TV, and really liked it, without realising that it was the introductory instrumental part of Time. Which naturally leads on to your post. Dark Side of the Moon is Floyd's best known album, of course, and is rightly regarded as a classic, but I have to say that my greatest love is their first album, The Piper at the Gates of Dawn – in fact, it's my favourite album ever, even though I didn't hear it until it was more than ten years old (I do have a slight excuse, though – I was only seven when it was released!). Syd Barrett is, without doubt, my all-time musical hero, possibly the most original artist in all of British rock history, and a fantastic guitarist, to boot, although his career was so sadly cut short by drug abuse and, probably, mental illness – proof of the adage about the thin line between madness and genius, perhaps. Speaking of talent, of the tracks you've posted, On The Run is my favourite, and showcases that Rick Wright, despite his often being overshadowed by Messrs Gilmour and Waters in many people's estimation, was a wonderful musician. Thanks for another great selection.

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  2. Some of the finest music ever written, as far as I'm concerned. Seeing it in concert once a long time ago cemented my relationship with Pink Floyd.

    Peace <3
    Jay

    (and THANKS! We need to sync our schedules! HAHAHA)

    Like

Leave a Reply

