Illusion

If I close my eyes when I listen to these guys I can picture a warm place.  It helps me escape this frozen Hell!
Disfrutar.

Mariachi El Bronx – 48 Roses


7 responses to “Illusion

  1. Hello David
    I can see what you mean, a definite atmosphere of warm Latin nights!
    I hesitate to say too much, but there might be some news on a song of another warm place imminently – my girl claimed to be feeling 'creative' last night, so I'm hopeful that there might be something to share with you soon.

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  2. Hi there, D_

    We don't seem to get much mariachi this side of the Atlantic, and English-language mariachi is definitely a new experience for me. It feels to me as if there is still an echo of Spanish colour and passion – flamenco or Spanish classical guitar (e.g. Rodrigo's guitar concerto) might be interesting things to explore.

    Take care

    Mark

    Like

  3. I can almost stop shivering listening to this!

    This is very interesting. Like Mark said, English-sang Mariachi is a new one for me. Makes me want to dance.

    And those outfits are FUCKING AWESOME!

    143

    _Kevin

    Like

  4. Mark –

    I assume you are referring to Joaquin Rodrigo's “Concierto de Aranjuez,” no?

    That piece inspired interpreatations by several well-known musicians, most notably Miles Davis' “Sketches of Spain,” which, in turn, inspired the electric piano/upright bass intro to Chick Corea's signature composition, “Spain.”

    I loves me some latin music!

    🙂

    -WA

    Like

  5. Hi there, all

    It would appear that I am indeed referring to Rodrigo's “Concierto de Aranjuez”. I must admit that before tonight, I had heard it just once that I know of, over thirty years ago – during the BBC Young Musician of the Year competition in either 1980 or 1982, when one of the competitors was a classical guitarist. I would hope that it was introduced with its correct title, but evidently the less formal description was the one that stuck with me.

    Following some digging on YouTube, I can say that I have now heard it at least twice – there is a complete performance at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r2Xdlgii-Rc

    Continuing the Rodrigo theme, I can now also suggest his “Concierto Andaluz” for four guitars and orchestra – apparently a complete performance at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zCjn7t26jUI

    Take care

    Mark

    Like

  6. Anything that warms theh heart and mind warms the body, and this is good stuff. It's been a while since I listened to any mariachi (a LONG time). Thanks.
    Peace <3
    Jay

    Like

Leave a Reply

