Another Request

Marty Robbins – Big Iron


8 responses to “Another Request

  1. Go to bed, Kev!!! lol!

    Thumping bass, Grady Martin shredding on guitar, a great story line, and Robbin's silky smooth voice…add it all up and it equals a big hit.

    Bob Weir, of the Dead, did a great cover of this song with the band Kingfish:

    The guy tearing it up on the Tele is Robbie Hoddinott.

    Hoddinott was an awesome player as you see in the video, but was/is? a heroin junkie.

    Here is a sad recent video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U49nQ9hUQlw

    I hope Robbie is still alive.

    Thanks for the Marty Robbins.

    🙂

    -WA

    Like

  2. Hello David
    Marty Robbins was one of my Mum's favourites when I was a kid, there were a few records of his (good old vinyl, of course!) in the radiogram cabinet in the front room, including El Paso, which I remember rather liking. I grew out of it, though!

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  3. You freaking amaze me, David. What a great song! I could show you my BIG IRON ON MY HIP if you wanted to see it! And that is in NO way sexual! HAHAHAHAHAHA

    Peace <3
    Jay

    Like

  4. Hello Andy
    He was certainly popular with my mum, but she also liked Perry Comatose, sorry, Como – enough said! I don't think he was ever a massive star over here, but he was certainly a staple of the radio station my parents listened to when I was of primary school age.

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

Leave a Reply

