My Go To…

album when I need to get my head out of the loud and crowded city.  I  put this in my ears and take myself to the open places.  I usually close my eyes and walk into the woods.  Jeff, I’m sorry $$$ I think you will like this one too $$$
I picked a live version, but the whole Dark So Gold cd is amazing.

The Pines – All the While


8 responses to “My Go To…

  1. Oh. My. God. This is AWESOME!!!! For EXACTLY the reasons you mention. I can just imagine walking in the wilderness with this in my ears. So I bought the Dark So Gold CD. (Why are you apologizing to Jeff??)

    (The weird login is because google and chrome are being stupid tonight)

    Peace <3
    Jay

    Like

  2. Hello David
    Very restful – the keyboards had a feel of floating away on a cloud. A bit too close to country music for me to be really enthusiastic, but I can certainly see how it could fit the sort of mood and scenario you describe.

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  3. Very laid back…I might have to check out Dark So Gold.

    Again, these guys have nice axes…isn't that one guy playing a Fender Jaguar, your favorite guitar?

    The keyboard dude looks like he's playing a Nord…nice but $$$$.

    🙂

    -Andy

    Like

  4. Yes. The perfect jaguar.
    Jay- Jeff said this blog is making him go broke and he shares my taste for this kind of mellow alt-counrty-post rock-stuff…

    Like

  5. Hi there, D_

    I like this: very calm and restful – definitely an antidote to the stresses of city life. Possibly for me it conjures up water lapping on a quiet shoreline, or flowing gently over stones.

    From what you wrote, I was also reminded of a poem I ran into a few years ago – “Clancy of The Overflow”, by 'Banjo' Paterson. He was Australian, and the poem contrasts life in the Outback and in the city. The full text is at http://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Clancy_of_the_Overflow – the lines that particularly get to me are these:

    For the drover’s life has pleasures that the townsfolk never know.

    And the bush hath friends to meet him, and their kindly voices greet him
    In the murmur of the breezes and the river on its bars,
    And he sees the vision splendid of the sunlit plains extended,
    And at night the wond’rous glory of the everlasting stars.

    Take care

    Mark

    Like

  6. Hi there, D_

    Thanks – I'm glad you like it.

    I first found it quite serendipitously, written on a display board in a pub in Perth (Western Australia). It captured very well how I was feeling at the time – about to end a six-week tour of Australia, and return to my equivalent of “the round eternal of the cash-book and the journal”. I had spent a lot of time travelling, and experienced quite a lot of natural Australia, from the Great Barrier Reef to the Nullarbor Plain, via the Victoria coast. So those words have a lot of happy memories tied to them.

    Take care

    Mark

    Like

Leave a Reply

