My Kind of Trip-Hop

I love everything they have done.  This one more than some.

Portishead – Cowboys


5 responses to “My Kind of Trip-Hop

  1. I'm glad you don't do drugs, you'd like this even more! It's trippy head music that I actually like when I'm halfway thru a bottle of cheap wine (that really sucks, but I hate to waste it).
    Peace <3
    Jay

    Like

  2. Hello David
    Listening to this was a slightly odd experience – not just in the sense of the music being 'other-worldly', but because although I could see parallels to music I like, early Pink Floyd, say, and even though I kept feeling that I ought to like it, I couldn't quite engage with it. I had heard of Portishead, and I was under the impression I had heard some of their stuff, but, after listening to this, I get the feeling I might have been confusing them with someone else. Maybe that would fit in with what they were intending, to throw the listener off-balance, to make them think. A bit of a surreal experience, all in all.

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  3. Hi there, D_

    Almost a month ago, I tried to comment on this post. For some reason, Blogger decided it was spam – possibly too many links to YouTube videos? This is what I said (with the links removed):

    I'm a bit surprised you've encountered Portishead – I had thought they were a fairly obscure English group (named after a fairly obscure English seaside town) that wouldn't be known much across the Atlantic.

    I'm afraid the track doesn't appeal to me much – too jarring and jittery. The video clip is from near the end of “2001: A Space Odyssey”, and is probably one of Stanley Kubrick's more surreal moments – the track is quite a good match for it.

    A Portishead track that does appeal to me is “Sour Times” – rather more melodic than “Cowboys”. As an example of the sort of thing that can consume an evening for me, I looked for and listened to “Sour Times” – then followed a link on that YouTube page to Depeche Mode's “Never Let Me Down Again” – then was reminded (by something in Dave Gahan's voice?) of Bronski Beat's “Smalltown Boy”, which I think will resonate with you in several ways.

    Take care

    Mark

    Like

Leave a Reply

