Must See!!!

I realize this isn’t a music post, but I saw this today, and it’s just too important not to share.

To This Day Project – Shane Koyczan  

3 responses to “Must See!!!

  1. Hello David
    Very powerful indeed. But is it likely to actually change anything, for either the victims of bullying, or its perpetrators? Sadly, I doubt it. I was the 'fat kid' at school, which, of course, attracted boatloads of abuse, abuse I was inclined to fight back, often physically, against, but I also knew I was the 'queer kid', too, something, given that I went to an all-boys school from 11 to 18, I knew I had to hide, all the time, to deny my real self every single day. And that, 'to this day', has had major repercussions in my life, as anyone who reads my blog will know all to well.
    Thank you for posting this – for all my scepticism, if it makes one person's life better, it will have been worthwhile.

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  2. This hit hard. All my life, I was always the one to be made fun of. Even the friends I did have would make fun of me. A few months ago, I was talking with my friend and she couldn't believe some of the things I don't remember happening. Guess I've blocked them out. My brother beating on me, people calling me names, leaving me out of everything and me sitting at home. It just became a way of life. Has it fucked me up? Oh hell yeah. But I've moved passed it. If I linger on it, sometimes it still gets to me. But I try not to let it. Hell, even my brother is one of my best friends now. I used to hate the fucking shit out of him.

    Kids are cruel. That's the way it is. But it's not the way it has to be. There is no reason to be mean to someone, just because they're a little different. We need to educate people that it's not ok. I think most parents went through it themselves as kids, so they think it's a normal part of growing up. That their kids will grow up fine and the cycle will start all over. But what if the kid doesn't make it? So many times people just want out, and they find a way. It is a cycle that has to end.

    Thanks for posting this. It was really neat.

    _143

    Kevin

    Like

  3. Hi DJ,

    I was the tiny boy that everyone got to punch on all day. I was always small. All the boys in the class was always taller then me. I got called a lot names that dealt with being the smallest kid in class. Hell the girls were even taller then me. I don't let it bother me no more but i do remember when it bothered me a lot. I know i blanked out a lot things too becasue i really can't remember all of it any more. But mom told me she has seen me come home and run to my room to clean up before she could see me sometimes. I had bruises all over my body too from all the abuse from the kids there at school. I hated to go to the park. I hated to go to school, I knew i would get beat up if i did. It does suck to be picked on. I wish everyone would see this and then think before they abuse someone else. Love you DJ, Thanks for putting this one on. Jeremy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

