On my spring break I watched a lot of movies.  I came to this one with a kid wearing a Black Hawks jersey (my favorite hockey team) sporting a wicked mullet.  Also the film was called Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll. Seemed like a no-brainer to me, so I watched it.  It was about a strange musician with polio named Ian Dury.  Pretty good movie and very funky music.

Ian Dury and the Blockheads – Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll


6 responses to “

  1. That was some funky shit! I totally have to check out that movie. Watch any other good ones on break?

    Jeez, I go away for a few days, and all this drama happens…Maybe you should just f.o.a.d.

    😛

    Nah, don't.

    143

    _Kevin

    Like

  2. Hello David
    I haven't heard this for years! It makes me feel bloody old, though – when that concert was recorded, I was about the same age as you are now!
    Ian Dury was certainly an original and interesting character – if you can find any footage of him being interviewed, I doubt you'll be disappointed – and produced some very good music, too.

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  3. Love it! Funky, bluesy, just plain ol' good music! What do you think of all those “voice effects”? I WAS your age when the concert was recorded. I'd forgotten all about Ian.
    Thanks for the memories.
    Peace <3
    Jay

    Like

  4. Hi there, D_

    This brings back memories for me too. Ian Dury was quite a character – much more so than I appreciated at the time, as I was only 12 or 13 when his music was in the charts here. It might not be my favourite, but it's part of the soundtrack of my life.

    Take care

    Mark

    Like

Leave a Reply

