Sabadell Orchestra – Beethoven’s 9th Symphony


7 responses to “

  1. Hello David
    In spite of, or maybe even because of, his status as the most classical of classical composers, I've never been a great fan of Beethoven – in general, I like music, whether it be rock or classical, which engages my emotions, and Beethoven doesn't seem to do that for me. Except in the case of the extract you've picked – Ode to Joy is a really uplifting piece of music which I like a lot.

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  2. One thing I didn't think of at first. This is an iconic piece of music. So iconic in fact, that I performed it as a first flute player in a county orchestra in high school. I can still picture every note in my head, and see the conductor in front of me, melding a bunch of kids from all over a fairly large county into a music machine – much like this one!
    Jay

    Like

  3. So how come a harmonica or a kazoo player didn't show up???

    Guess I need to breakout my Beethoven books…

    Did I tell you my best friend in HS is the former conductor of the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra and Richmond Symphony, among others…and I had a jazz studies professor who was principal bassoonist for the Richmond Symphony (and a *hell* of a tenor sax player!)

    Oh, and I think Beethoven is properly from the Romantic period, which followed the Classical period, although it all gets lumped generically as “classical.”

    🙂

    -Andy

    Like

  4. Hi there, D_

    Thanks for posting this – it's not quite a “flash” orchestra, but it's still an interesting and unusual way to do a public performance.

    It might also be of interest that this took place in Spain – in a suburb of Barcelona, in fact. Given the economic situation there, I wonder how many of the audience, and indeed of the performers, were out of work. The closing title, “We are Sabadell”, suggests some sort of community involvement.

    Take care

    Mark

    Like

Leave a Reply

