And in the Beginning…

Ok,so here it goes.  The first installment of my attempt at a story.  I feel like I should go over a few things first.  This is a fact based story.  Names have been changed, but locations and events are more or less real.  There will be harsh language and sexual references. It’s not a sex story, but it follows the life of a teenage boy,so you get the idea.  This is my first attempt at writing  anything more than an assignment or a blog post. I can accept some criticism and advise, but the grammar police will do nothing more than piss me off LOL! This is not English class.  I will roll it out in pieces and try to be consistent, so there’s no long gaps between posts.  Enjoy (I hope)

Live Through This


“Wake up Squirt! You don’t want to be late on the first day of school” my sister yelled, while yanking away the pillow I was peacefully sleeping on only moments ago. 

“Go away Kari” I protested, none to happy about being rousted from my comfortable slumber. And what’s she mean by “squirt” anyway?  I’m a beast!  I shot up over two inches this last summer. My required middle school physical examination last week puts me at 4′ 9″ and a solid 80 pounds. See?  I’m a freaking monster!  I’ll be the…smallest kid in the jr. high. Unless, Frankie didn’t shoot up like I did. Ughh , it sucks being so small. It wasn’t so bad last year, in 6th grade. We were the biggest, oldest kids in the school, with all them shrimps in there. But this is jr. high. I’m gonna be the youngest again. And probably the smallest. My only hope is that there are smaller boys coming from the 3 other elementary schools, ready to claim the title of “littlest twerp” of Crest View Jr. High School. Go Cardinals!

I could still hear Kari screaming I don’t know what from the bathroom, and then the kitchen, as I slowly rolled off my bed and into a fully extended cat stretch, with my hands pawing toward the ceiling. 

I fumbled my way downstairs to the kitchen, grabbed the OJ from the fridge, and took a glass from the cupboard. As I was drinking my breakfast, Kari was going over the game-plan with me, about a mile a minute. As if I was awake enough and coherent enough to keep up.

“Whoa…slow down sis” I pleaded. 

“Sorry” she said unapologetically “I’m in a hurry, and there’s a lot to cover. Dad’s on travel, of course. Mom left for work already. Lindsay will be here in a few minutes, so you’re the last one here. You need to lock up when you go, ok?”

“Yeah. I know all this Kari” I shot back, a little annoyed. 

“What are you having for breakfast?  Why aren’t you dressed?  You don’t have much time and if you miss the bus, no one is here to bail you out.  Todd hasn’t been out to pee yet, either.”

“You know I never eat breakfast and I’ve got plenty of time” I said, a little more annoyed. 

Then she seemed to relax a little bit and dropped her motherly tone, transforming back into my not so stressed out kick-ass older sister. 

She looked at me, smiled, and said “I’m sorry. I don’t know why I’m buggin’ out. You’re all grown up now and I know you can handle it. My little Daniel is in Jr. High. Are you nervous?  You’ll be fine. You got nothing to worry about. Look at you, you little lady killer. I bet you’ll be fighting off all them girls with a stick.”

“Yeah right” I shot back, unable to contain an embarrassed smile. 

“No. Seriously Daniel. I’ve seen the way all the girls look at you. You’re a little hottie and you don’t even know it. You’re so naive. Get a little confidence, and you can have whatever you want.”

“Naive?  Thanks” I said dejectedly. 

“Well, sheltered. I don’t know. Again…I’m sorry I wasn’t trying to be mean. Cheer up! Be a kid and have some fun ok?  Make some friends. I worry about you, you know?  So serious all the time.”

“It’s ok. I know you weren’t being mean. I’m fine. Really.”

Kari stepped across the kitchen over to where I was standing, drinking my juice, and wrapped her arms around me. 

“You should get upstairs and get dressed. I’ll take care of the dog. Lindsay will be here any minute. Do you want her to see you walking around in just your underwear?  She might start kissing you if she sees you like this.”

“Ah haha!  Yeah right” I said back, unable to control my laughter. Lindsay is one of the most popular, hottest girls in 11th grade. 

As I started to walk back upstairs, Kari pinched my ass and said “have fun Daniel. See you tonight, ok?”

I said goodbye while running up the stairs, two at a time. I had a lot to do, and not much time to get it done. Damn!  I should have listened to Kari. I might miss the bus if I don’t hurry up. 

I threw open my closet and grabbed some beige cargo shorts and a black, pocket t-shirt. It was still pretty warm outside for early September in Minnesota, and the weather could turn cold and ugly at anytime. Best to take advantage of the last few days of shorts weather, before the long, cold winter sets in. 

I took a very quick, almost lukewarm shower and got dried and dressed in record time. I set my signature olive green Decky visor beanie atop my still wet, tangled blonde mess. It’s rare to catch me outside without my trusty hat on. I jumped back downstairs. Grabbed a crunchy granola bar (because I know breakfast is important, even though I’d rather not bother to eat) and headed out to the street to catch the bus. 

I made a quick u-turn, locked the front door of the chalet a-frame that I call home (more on that later) and once again, trotted down to the end of the street. 


7 responses to “And in the Beginning…

  1. Hello David
    A nice 'scene-setting' beginning, introducing the main character – I already have a picture of Daniel in my mind's eye – and, I presume, one of the important members of the 'supporting cast'. And nothing I can see for the 'grammar police' to be exercised about! I'll be looking forward to the next instalment.

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  2. I’ve always been amazed by your skill and talent, first with art and music and now with writing. I will enjoy reading your story. This is a very good start.

    Like

  3. Excellent start! This is great. I tend to be the grammar police, so thanks for the warning. When you get ready to publish it on Amazon, then I'll take a whack at it ;-).

    This is going to be fun to read, DJ. I'm already hooked, so your first part is obviously well done! I knew you were musically talented, now you show us another talented piece of you. Thanks!

    Peace <3
    Jay

    Like

  4. Thursday February 20th, 2014. Minneapolis, MN

    It rains. It snows. It snows. And it snows some more. Kevin spends the first 9 hours of his day shoveling. Kevin wants to kill people. Kevin goes to Perkins at 2 AM to get a piece of pie. Kevin sees David has posted the first part of his story. Kevin is happy.

    Good start man! There are very few things that can make me happy after a day like Thursday, but this was one of them. And pie. You should offer pie with your story! I can't wait to read more, even if I have to bring my own pie, hehe. Seriously though, you did well.

    143

    _Kevin

    Like

  5. Hi, D. This is my first visit to your blog, so I don't know much about you, but I love to read and look forward to hearing more of your story. As far as critique, I think you've established that Daniel and Kari have a good relationship, that they're comfortable around each other, and that she's the nurturing type. I wonder what she looks like. I gather that Daniel is small for his age, is cute, and has blond hair. What color are his eyes? It's a good opening, as it leaves me wondering what's going to happen next. Will something awful happen to Daniel on his first day of school? Will he get picked on for being small? Does he have many friends? (Just letting you know what I was thinking as I was reading.)

    I look forward to reading more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

