Chasing down them Northern Lights

I’d love to tell you that I’ve been typing away, stockpiling volumes of reading material to share. The truth is, I don’t even have one single word. I’ve convinced myself that the very first sentence, could be the most critical one, in the entire book. It will influence the direction this thing goes. I can’t say when that “aha” moment will occur…

In other news, I’ve been saving all my pennies to fly out to Denver in August, to get lost in the mountains, with my uncle. You know how it is, sometimes plans just don’t work out. Instead, my uncle is flying into Minneapolis. He’ll be here for a good three weeks. Back in March, he booked a trip to the BWCA (see below). He booked it for him and I. The sneaky bastard.

If you’re not familiar with the BWCA, it’s a heaven right here on earth. It’s the only place in Minnesota, where you can truly detach yourself from civilization. The only way you are allowed to travel, is with canoe and your own two feet. No motors. No boats. No airplanes. No guns. No electricity. No nothing really. You canoe along a chain of lakes, portage, canoe some more. The idea is to get so deep inside, that you don’t even see a distant glow from another campsite.  There are no power lines when you look into the sky. No planes flying overhead. It’s in my opinion, perfection.

I’ve only made one journey to the BWCA, back when I was 10. I remember enjoying it. Being humbled by its beauty. I’m excited to return, older, wiser, with my eyes wide open. Perhaps it can provide me with some inspiration for this ongoing story.

I remember on our first night of camp, late in the night, I could see a strange green hue in the sky, through the mesh top of the tent. I peered out the door and experienced the Aurora Borealis  for the first, and only time in my life. I stayed up every other night on that trip, hoping for another glimpse at that natural phenomenon. It didn’t happen for me. Maybe this time, I will again, chase down the Northern Lights.

11 responses to “Chasing down them Northern Lights

  1. Hello David
    Writing, and the inspiration behind it, happens if and when it happens – I've written almost nothing for well over a year, since finishing my magnum opus (by my low standards). Whenever the muse takes you again, you know we'll be here to read and admire.
    Your forthcoming expedition sounds amazing, I hope it goes as well as you would wish. I've never been fortunate enough to see the Northern Lights, and, living as I do in one of the most light polluted places imaginable, I'm not expecting that to change in the foreseeable future. One day, maybe.

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  2. I’m certainly looking forward to when your writing can resume, I’m anxious to read that first sentence. I hope the inspiration comes to you before too long.

    Your uncle is such a great guy… What a wonderful thing for him to do, to plan that trip for you and him to the place that so inspired you when you were younger. I’ve never heard of it before but you can bet I will be doing some research on it. It sounds really great, a fine summer adventure. It will be great to hear you tell of that trip when you return, even if it does interrupt your ‘regular’ writing.

    I wish you good luck on your adventure, I hope you are even more impressed with it this time than you were before. Your current life sounds really nice to me. – Aof

    Like

  3. The BWCA is a place that been on my list for a long time. I've canoed the North Woods of Maine in the Allagash Waterway, and in upstate New York in the Adirondack Park, but Boundary Waters has always held a special place in my heart. I know you will have a great time reconnecting with your uncle, and being in the great outdoors. I've only seen the aurora once, too, a long time ago in Maine. Good luck, good canoeing, glad life is grand!

    Peace <3
    Jay

    Like

  4. Your uncle can be a sneaky son of a gun. Have fun! Do you have any idea where you're going? I went three times when I was real young, I wanna say 7,8, and 9, and hated it every time. I wasn't much for camping, canoeing, or shitting in the woods. I went again when I was 14 and had a much better time. You're right about being humbled by the beauty of the place. How can something so amazing exist? I've wanted to go again now that I'm older and can appreciate it even more, and my brother and I have even talked about it, but it has yet to be.

    I hope you have an amazing time! Watch out for those 150+ rod portages, those can be rough. Although, there are some nasty short ones too. All depends on the terrain I guess.

    Oh yeah, if you're ever looking for a good read, Lost In The Wild is pretty interesting. It's about two separate accounts of people getting lost in the Boundary Waters and what they go through to get out, as well as the rescue missions to help find them. I'd wait until you get back out before reading it though, haha.

    Lost In The Wild

    143

    _Kevin

    Like

  5. I am a fan of Louis L'Amour. I remember seeing an article that quoted him as saying that he wasn't a great writer, he was a good rewriter.”

    Also, he said, “Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on”

    I am looking forward to your continuing story, whenever you are ready.

    Like

  6. “No man should go through life without once experiencing healthy, even bored solitude in the wilderness, finding himself depending solely on himself and thereby learning his true and hidden strength”

    ― Jack Kerouac

    Like

Leave a Reply

