Working Man

A friend in needs a friend indeed.

A friend with weed is better.

– Brian Molko

I spent all weekend helping a friend, or rather his dad.  A gave him about 20 hours of hard labor and no, I was not rewarded with weed.  I donned the tool-belt and assless chaps, and we built us a laminate floor (500 square feet) in his comfortable suburban estate.  When a man takes you to Australlia and pays most of your expenses, you help him at the drop of a hat.  I am wicked sore and beyond exhaustion, but it was worth it to see the finished product.  Dominic, his dad, and I did a fine job of DIY home improvement.

floor

I do have another chapter of Savior nearly ready to post.  I think that one is winding down…

Chau for now

16 responses to “Working Man

  1. That was a really nice thing to do and, as you say, certainly warranted by them taking you on the Australia trip with them. I’m glad you had an opportunity to do some payback. The resulting floor looks really nice, thanks for including the photo. I’m sure you feel a great sense of accomplishment and pride in it. Every time you visit there in the future, you will look at it and those feelings will still be there while the soreness and exhaustion will soon be forgotten.

    You done good! – Aof

    Like

  2. Hello David
    A very nice job, and a good way to show you appreciate the generosity you received, but, still, sooner you than me – my DIY skills are somewhere between infinitesimal and zero!

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  3. The floor looks great, from what I can tell in the pic! Hard work is exactly that: hard, but I know they both appreciated it. Very kind of you, even though they took you to Australia and you felt you owed them. Maybe you did, but I doubt they saw it that way and just appreciated the extra pair of capable hands.

    The quote you posted at the beginning is a great one. I find it amusing that I was actually listening to Pure Morning less than a week ago, for the first time in a while. Love Placebo…

    Like

  4. Was the substrate ply or concrete? All in one room? For a laminate, it sure looks like the real thing in the Foto.

    These are the skills I wish I could have learned at your age ( including electrical and plumbing – to name a few). My ‘bestie’ is well skilled in these areas; and has saved my bacon on more than one occasion.

    “BRAVO ZULU” to you, Dom and his Dad.

    …………. “FOGGY” 🙂

    Like

    • Plywood. It’s a dining/living/kitchen thing. We took out some carpet and linoleum. Looks about 100 times better, but his dog is not a fan of the slippery surface.

      Liked by 1 person

      • That was good experience for you, a new skill learned, something you can use again in the future. I would like to have that opportunity myself. – Aof

        Like

  5. I am not surprised at all that you did this. Good for you. Now come do my floor. I pay $$$, and you owe me nothing! HAHAHAHAHAHA

    Cool, dude. As sore as you are, I know it’s a good sore.

    And if it’s winding down, it better wind up!

    Peace ❤
    Jay

    Like

  6. I’m liking the new digs over here! Bit of a different feel. That’s super cool that you got a laptop again too. Give those eyes a break! Hehe

    That’s a nice looking floor. I helped my dad redo our kitchen years ago, but it wasn’t nearly that size. I can only imagine the soreness you felt the next day!

    I still have to read the previous chapter of Savior, but hopefully it doesn’t end too soon!

    143

    _Kevin

    Like

  7. I’m liking the new digs over here! It has a bit of a different feel. And that’s super awesome you got a new laptop! Give those eyes a break!

    That’s a nice looking floor. I helped my dad redo our kitchen years ago, but it wasn’t nearly that size. I can only imagine the soreness you felt the next day!

    I still have to read the previous chapter of Savior, but I hope it doesn’t end too soon. I like it!

    143

    _Kevin

    Like

Leave a Reply

