Update

Hello- At times the words fight with me. The picture isn’t formed just right. It’s been like that the last few days… So I am shifting gears for this post. First I want to thank all of you for taking the time to read and comment on my story. It’s also very exciting to see some new faces. My long time friends know a lot of this story already, soon things will become more recognizable. It’s been all backstory to this point. Below are sketches of the two main characters (so far) Next post will be the next chapter. Thank you all again for  the support!!!

Daniel
Kayla

7 responses to “Update

  1. Hey David.

    If it's not right, don't force it. You want it to come naturally. If we have to wait a few more days, I think we'll survive.

    Nice pictures! It's been a while since we've been presented with your drawings. I still don't understand how you do it…

    Hope you're well!

    143

    _Kevin

    Like

  2. Hello David
    As a 'wannabe' writer, I know the feeling of the words not flowing all to well – the number of unfinished stories I have at my fiction blog is positively embarrassing! When the muse does bless you with its presence, though, and the pictures in your mind make their way effortlessly onto the page, it's such a good feeling.
    As Kevin said, it's good to see your artwork again, especially two such excellent portraits. Art is one area where I've never had the slightest talent, so all I can do in the face of those like you, and my daughter, who do have the skill is to look and admire.

    Love & best wishes
    Sammy B

    Like

  3. I am so enjoying reading your story. Do take whatever time it requires to get it to suit you. All the rest of your life you will be looking back on it as your first effort in what I think will play at least a significant part of the rest of your life. Writing skill like this can’t be suppressed, I am sure many other such creations will result.

    I really appreciate the further detail about Daniel’s life. I always expected there was a wealth of information there that would be interesting to know. I think his life has encompassed many more experiences than the normal person growing up, some not so good but others providing an interesting life most don’t encounter. It will certainly make good reading but it will also paint a better understood image of the person.

    I have always enjoyed seeing your drawings. I have many saved and some printed. Like your writing, your drawing skill has progressed over the years. These are really wonderful. I can hardly comprehend that a person your age can possess such a variety of skills and talents, as always I remain in awe of this. I hate to suggest that you take some time from your writing to create more of the sketch art but I will certainly appreciate any more that come along to illustrate the advancing story.

    As much as I want to see more of your work, I do hope that you are keeping your priorities in order. Don’t let this current effort subtract from the other responsibilities you have now, such as school and whatever work you are finding it necessary to accomplish. You are still building the foundation for the rest of your life, make it a good one.

    Like

  4. I think writing is one of the toughest things ever. You're doing an admirable job.

    Thank you for the new artwork. This is wonderful! I really love your style, it's like your writing, so detailed, so developed.

    Peace <3
    Jay

    Like

  5. Ooooh, I love seeing the characters! It's funny, that's not how I pictured Kayla in my mind, but Daniel's portrait is very close to how I pictured him.

    I wear a lot of hats (figuratively speaking). I'm a teacher, an author, and a photographer. I love all things creative and spend a lot of time in photoshop, but I haven't tried digital painting yet. One day…maybe. Who knows? I continue to surprise myself. 🙂

    As a photographer, I often study posing. In traditional portraiture, they teach that tilting the head and shoulders in certain ways portray different emotions. Most sources refer to “masculine” and “feminine” poses, which is poor terminology IMO because they both can and are used with either gender, depending on the emotions the artist is trying to portray. It's very old-fashioned terminology. And I'm quite outspoken about the absurdity of “gender roles” in general.

    However, what I see in Daniel's portrait is a traditionally “masculine” pose (although “aloof” might be a better word choice), and yet, there's a hint of gentleness to it, which I find very pleasing. He comes across as a sweet and likable young man, with a bit of a “tough guy” inside.

    Haha, you probably weren't thinking about any of that while you were painting it. Just thought it might be interesting for you to hear what I see. 🙂

    Kayla's portrait doesn't offer me as much insight since I can't see the direction of her shoulders and her head position is very straight. Her one eye being hidden behind her bangs could symbolize a secret. We'll see…

    Looking forward to reading more of Daniel's story!

    Like

Leave a comment